Tania Unsworth, Children's Writer

Brightwood

The Secret Life of Daisy Fitzjohn

Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of her home, a secluded mansion called Brightwood Hall. But only Brightwood is real for Daisy--she’s never once set foot outside its grounds. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within Brightwood’s magnificent, half-ruined walls, including Daisy’s best friends: a talking rat named Tar and the ghost of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank.

When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a peculiar visitor, James Gritting, arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it.

Reviews

Barnes and Noble Kid’s Blog said...

“Young readers will be rooting for Daisy as she prepares to fight for her home and flee if necessary in this entrancing story that will keep everyone guessing till the very end.”

School Library Journal said...

“A nice read-alike for fans of Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener or Neil Gaiman’s Coraline… A solid purchase for middle grade students who enjoy creepy stories with elements of magical realism.”

Amanda Craig, New Statesman: Best Children’s Books for Spring said...

“Has the beguiling flavor of Katharine Rundell’s Rooftoppers, being as much about the inner journey as the outer.”

Sunday Express, The Best Reads in 2016 said...

“A fantastic new adventure for slightly younger readers.”

Kirkus Reviews said...

“Brilliantly conceived… Subtle and thought-provoking, the novel is entertaining and heartfelt.”

Guardian/Observer said...

“A proper page-turning thriller…your blood runs cold.”

Book information

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Publication date: September 29, 2016
ISBN: 978-1616203306

Brightwood

My Books

Find out about my books for children The One Safe Place and Brightwood.

Read more

School Visits

Find out more about the work I do with schools and pupils.

Read more

Appearances

Contact me to find out about school visits, book clubs, and book store events.

Contact Me